India News

Canada’s NDP leader Jagmeet Singh wins Burnaby South seat in byelection


Canada’s New Democratic Party (NDP) Leader Jagmeet Singh stunned all and silenced his critics by staging a critical victory in Burnaby South (Vancouver) seat for the House of Commons in the byelection.

For Singh, who secured 39 per cent of votes against 26 per cent by arch-rival and Labour Party candidate Richard T. Lee and 26 per cent by the Conservative Party candidate Jay Shin, the victory in the byelection has come as a surprise gift.

Jagmeet Singh Jimmy Dhaliwal, who was elected as the leader of the NDP in 2017, was facing opposition from within to an extent that former party Leader Tom Muclair had openly stated in January that it would be very difficult for Singh to retain his position as the NDP chief if he lost the Burnaby South bypoll.
The NDP had started touching a new low under what was described as Singh’s ‘troubled leadership’ as its fund-raising had started going down and 11 of party’s 44 MPs, who had staged victory in 2015, had announced that they won’t see any re-election in Federal polls due October this year.

The Liberals wrested the Outremont seat from the former NDP leader Thomas Mulcair in Quebec province. Rachel Bendayan, the Liberal Party candidate secured 40 per cent vote against 26.1 per cent secured by Mulciar. Julia Sanchez, the NDP’s candidate in Outremont, finished second by with 33.5 per cent votes.