India News

Home Minister Amit Shah gets Cooperation; Mansukh Mandviya is new Health Minister

New Delhi, July 7

Prime Minister Narendra Modi allocated new portfolios to his cabinet colleagues on Wednesday evening—a development that comes hours after he expanded his cabinet to include 36 new faces.

The central government has, apart from the Prime Minister, 30 Cabinet Ministers and 45 Ministers of State.

Home Minister Amit Shah took over the newly-instituted Cooperation Ministry.

Gujarat MP and now minister Mansukh Mandviya was allocated Health—a charge that the now-former minister Harsh Vardhan held until Wednesday morning—and Chemicals portfolio. Dharmendra Pradhan will now take over Education Ministry—a charge he’ll take over from now-former minister Ramesh Pokhriyal ‘Nishank’—as well as Skill Development and Entrepreneurship Ministry.

Former Minister of State for Finance Anurag Thakur will take over the Information and Broadcast Ministry, a charge BJP leader Prakash Javadekar held previously. He is now a Cabinet Minister.


The development comes after the Prime Minister promoted seven of his council of ministers to cabinet rank and added 36 new faces to his list of ministers. 

Here’s a list of the new allocations:

Cabinet Ministers

Rajnath Singh: Minister of Defence

Amit Shah:  Minister of Home Affairs; and Minister of Cooperation

Nitin Jairam Gadkari: Minister of Road Transport and Highways

Nirmala Sitharaman: Minister of Finance; and Minister of Corporate Affairs

Narendra Singh Tomar:  Minister of Agriculture and Farmers Welfare

Subrahmanyam Jaishankar:  Minister of External Affairs

Arjun Munda:  Minister of Tribal Affairs

Smriti Zubin Irani: Minister of Women and Child Development

Piyush Goyal: Minister of Commerce and Industry; Minister of Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution; and Minister of Textiles

Dharmendra Pradhan: Minister of Education; and Minister of Skill Development and Entrepreneurship

Pralhad Joshi: Minister of Parliamentary Affairs; Minister of Coal; and Minister of Mines

Narayan Tatu Rane:  Minister of Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises

Sarbananda Sonowal: Minister of Ports, Shipping and Waterways; and Minister of AYUSH

Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi: Minister of Minority Affairs

Virendra Kumar: Minister of Social Justice and Empowerment

Giriraj Singh: Minister of Rural Development; and Minister of Panchayati Raj


Jyotiraditya M. Scindia: Minister of Civil Aviation

Ramchandra Prasad Singh: Minister of Steel

Ashwini Vaishnaw: Minister of Railways; Minister of Communications; and Minister of Electronics and Information Technology


Pashu Pati Kumar Paras: Minister of Food Processing Industries

Gajendra Singh Shekhawat: Minister of Jal Shakti

Kiren Rijiju: Minister of Law and Justice

Raj Kumar Singh: Minister of Power; and Minister of New and Renewable Energy


Hardeep Singh Puri: Minister of Petroleum and Natural Gas; and Minister of Housing and Urban Affairs

Mansukh Mandaviya: Minister of Health and Family Welfare; and Minister of Chemicals and Fertilizers


Bhupender Yadav: Minister of Environment, Forest and Climate Change; and Minister of Labour and Employment

Mahendra Nath Pandey: Minister of Heavy Industries

Parshottam Rupala: Minister of Fisheries, Animal Husbandry and Dairying


G. Kishan Reddy: Minister of Culture; Minister of Tourism; and Minister of Development of North Eastern Region

Anurag Singh Thakur: Minister of Information and Broadcasting; and Minister of Youth Affairs and Sports