Punjab News

Punjab assembly polls: SAD announces 67 new candidates; Sukhbir Badal to contest from Jalalabad

Chandigarh, September 13

SAD president Sukhbir Badal will contest from Jalalabad. Badal is a Member of Parliament from Ferozepur. 

Among other candidates, Jathedar Tota Singh will contest from Dharmkot; Janmeja Singh Sekhon from Zira;  Daljit Singh Cheema from Ropar; Maheshinder Singh Grewal from Ludhiana West; Sikander Singh Maluka from Rampura Phul; Jagmeet Brar from Maur; Sharanjit Singh Dhillon from Sahnewal; and Gulzar Singh Ranike from Attari (SC) Constituencies.

SAD, which is contesting 97 of the 117 assembly seats, has so far announced candidates for 64. The Bahujan Samaj Party, which is contesting the elections in alliance with SAD, will take the rest.

Punjab Assembly elections are due early next year