India News

Showcause notices sent to 32 officers in Kotkapura firing incident

Chandigarh-The Punjab government has issued showcause notices to 32 officers, including over a dozen from the police department, who have been indicted by the Ranjit Singh Commission.
The officials met DGP Suresh Arora after the Department of Home Affairs had sought their explanation.Former DGP Sumedh Singh Saini was also issued a showcause notice
The 14 senior officers who have been issued showcause notices include the then SSP Moga, Charanjit Singh Sharma; the then DIG Ferozepur range, Amar Singh Chahal; Addl DGP, Law and Order, Rohit Chaudhary; and Charanjit Singh Sharma.
For the civil officers, whose names have come up in the report, the action taken report says that Chief Secretary, Punjab, Karan Avtar Singh has been asked to initiate disciplinary action against them as per the recommendations of the commission and complete the same within 90 days.
However, no names have been taken of any officers in the Action Taken Report (ATR). The names of officers — then Chief Secretary Sarvesh Kaushal, then PS to CM S K Sandhu and then special PS to CM, Gaggandip Singh Brar, appear only in the final report of the Commission.
The officers also include 10 junior-rank officers.